News for July 2010
Cold-Blooded Killers 18
A look at Lizardmen in the upcoming March of the Damned expansion
Warhammer: Invasion The Card Game | Published 20 July 2010

Deep within the hellish and steaming jungles of Lustria, amid ancient trees and cloying swamps, the age-old civilisation of the Lizardmen has stood since long before the rise of Elves, Dwarfs, or Men. Savage warriors, the Lizardmen are vigilant in the defense of their ways. These children of the Old One creators fight to restore order to the world, but their enigmatic motivations make them uncertain and often dangerous allies.

Welcome to another card of the week preview for Warhammer: Invasion The Card Game! The Fall of Karak Grimaz will be on shelves soon, but rather than turn our attention to The Silent Forge (the next Battle Pack in The Enemy Cycle), let’s take another look at the upcoming deluxe expansion March of the Damned. Last month, we saw the awesome power of the Wight Lord, a Vampire Count unit that can wreak havoc every time it enters play (which, with some creative use of Necromancy, can be often). This time, we’ll take a look at the elusive Lizardmen, and we’ll see the potential devastation of their Savage keyword.

The rules state that “Savage X” allows a unit, when it is dealt 1 or more damage, to deal X damage to one target unit in any corresponding zone. It is important to note that the unit with the Savage keyword must survive the damage it was dealt in order for the Savage keyword to trigger.

From a strategic standpoint, it’s also important to note a few other points: First, Savage does not require the unit in question to take that damage in combat ; the damage can be dealt for any number of reasons. Second, the unit with Savage can still be quite dangerous when corrupted. All of this adds up to some exciting deckbuilding opportunities. How, for example, might you control incoming damage (or even damage your own Savage units) in order to use your Lizardmen to “bounce” punishment back at your enemies?

There are more than a few ways. The Empire’s Warrior Priests can send deflected damage to their own scaly comrades, while The High Elves’ Loremaster of Hoeth could trigger Savage just by entering play and the support card Ancient Waystone could potentially let you pull off a Savage combo every time a spell card is played! The list goes on... consider the synergy between the Savage keyword and Blessing of Valaya or Surprise Assault, just to name two more.

This brings us to our double-feature preview of March of the Damned. The formidable Carnosaur Rider stands ready to deal three points of damage if anyone so much as tickles him, and the zealous Temple Guard can ensure that any incoming damage is redirected toward the Carnosaur Rider!

The best part, perhaps, is that neither unit has to be involved in combat (or even in the Battlefield at all) for this combo to be effective. You just need a target (some third party unit) from which you can redirect incoming damage, and a resource token. Then you can make your opponent think twice about every point of damage he inflicts.

In short, the Lizardmen are able to deal out massive injury to all who stand against them. They just need a bit of “persuasion” first. Join us next week for another Warhammer: Invasion card preview!

Warhammer: Invasion The Card Game is a card game by Eric M. Lang in which 2 players develop their kingdoms and lay waste to their foes. Each side is comprised of either the forces of Order or the forces of Destruction as they seek to extend their empire to include the entire Old World. The Living Card Game format allows players to customize their gaming experience with monthly Battle Pack expansions to the core game.

Write Comments     
More News [+]
Comments (18)

Keggy
Published: 7/24/2010 6:07:40 AM
#18

Ugh, I wish this would come out sooner.

Cain_hu
Published: 7/23/2010 2:48:39 AM
#17

Dam

Completely agree ! Dwarwes and elves both helps the empire if in it's a big time of need, but otherwise there are some notes about those pointy ears in the Great Book of Grudges.

ffgfan
Published: 7/22/2010 1:27:38 PM
#16

It's looking cool. Can't wait to see more, lets just hope that in september we will se it! Those are really looking amazing.

Dam
Published: 7/22/2010 8:06:37 AM
#15

@ Cain_hu: Looking at things from a fluff POV, I can't really the Lizzies joining forces with any of the current Order races, whereas an alliance between any of those three I can happening (Dwarves + Empire at the top in probability, Dwarves + HElves at the bottom). Lizzies are just way too out there.

Cain_hu
Published: 7/22/2010 3:32:35 AM
#14

PeekItUp

As if order would mean saints. :)

Order is not a never faltering alliance, even in faction infighting is possible. Also, there are many who tried to loot Lustria.

BTW : based on the picture, I guess those humans are pirates. 

facepalm
Published: 7/21/2010 9:32:15 PM
#13

It was a cultist.                         

PeekItUp
Published: 7/21/2010 9:12:23 PM
#12

 Also, if Carnosaur Rider is Order Only... why is the Carnosaur clearly eating a human?

PeekItUp
Published: 7/21/2010 9:11:13 PM
#11

 It just seems like after you use Temple Guard's ability, it triggers off damage being dealt, not right before damage being dealt. 

So could damage be dealt to Carnosaur Rider, trigger Savage, and then be redirected once the Temple Guard's ability triggers?

facepalm
Published: 7/21/2010 7:23:16 PM
#10

@Arieov

If it takes 3 damage in one go, it would still only trigger the ability once, and if it is killed it does not work, I dont see how that is overpowered. The best you can get is trigger it 3 times(which I can garantee wont happen all that often) That would be 9 damage which is a lot but  a lot of other cards have a way of being played that could make them uberpowerful.

Arieov
Published: 7/21/2010 6:31:02 PM
#9

This new savage thing seems awfully confusing and potentially way overpowered, it depends on how it exactly works which is unclear. But the combo Carnosaur rider and Temple guard, it would be able to wipe out your whole army when trying to destroy it because it gets to do 3 damage each time it is hit and it has 4 health?? WTF were they thinking.  Hope the clarification tones this down somehow.

Entropy42
Published: 7/21/2010 12:23:55 PM
#8

@Dam

That Sadistic Mutation ruling was older than the FAQ, so I think the "Dealing Damage in Combat" clarification in the FAQ makes more sense.

@Peekitup

I agree this is confusing.  Hopefully the upcoming FAQ v2 will have better clarifications about "dealing" and "redirecting" damage.  They seem to have changed the wording on redirection slightly.  It used to say "redirect the next X damage ASSIGNED" but on this card and Blessing of Valaya it says "redirect the next X damage DEALT"

Dam
Published: 7/21/2010 2:02:23 AM
#7

@ PeekItUp: Yes, very much so. Sadistic Mutation ruling on deal damage was "Damage has been dealt once it has been added to the damage pool." Nothing about it needing to be applied. So, Savage units just need to be declared defenders, attackers pools up his damage and then Savage kicks in? That definately can't be right, because then it ignores the "must survive the damage dealt" part of Savage. Things used to be simple when deal damage = assign and apply damage.

© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS