News for May 2010
A Howl From the Wilderness 17
A Warhammer: Invasion card of the week
Warhammer: Invasion The Card Game | Published 25 May 2010

The raucous and bloodthirsty braying of the Gors is enough to fill the hearts of their enemies with dread. But even though the cacophony made by a horde of Gors seems like chaotic noise, to consider it a mere battle cry would be a fatal mistake. Gors are not without a crude sense of tactics, and will often use these blood-curdling howls to summon distant allies. Indeed, travelers who hear the braying of Gors would be wise to make haste toward the nearest friendly fortification.
      - an excerpt from “On the Beasts of the Wilderness” by Heinrich Lutzvig

Welcome to another card of the week for Warhammer: Invasion The Card Game! It’s an exciting time for Warhammer: Invasion, since The Enemy Cycle is almost upon us. With the release of The Burning of Derricksburg next month, both James Hata’s design direction and the exciting new collation format begin.

Last week we saw the power of the Empire’s Gryphon Legionnaires, with their ability to enter play at any time for a well-placed Counterstrike. Today, we’ll turn our attention to the forces of Chaos... specifically, the mighty and fearsome beast men called Gors.

Braying Gor is a versatile low-cost unit that, text effect aside, offers a respectable single power icon for its cost of two resources. But when resources are tight, it can also be corrupted to help bring other units into play.

At first glance, this might seem like too high a cost to pay. After all, you can only restore one unit at the start of your turn... and if you corrupt too many of your own units, you may find yourself digging your way out of a hole for most of the game. What if, for example, you corrupted all three Braying Gors at once? You’d get a handy discount, sure, but then your Braying Gors would be useless until you could restore them, right?

Not exactly. Corruption only prevents attacking and defending; there’s plenty a unit can do for you while it’s in a corrupted state. Even if corrupted, its power icon can still count for collecting resources and cards in your kingdom or quest zones... and it can be sacrificed (while corrupted) to power any number of cards, including Brutal Offering, Great Unclean One, and Offering of Blood, just to name a few.

In short, don’t fear corruption, embrace it! Its real cost might be lower than you think. Join us next week for another Warhammer: Invasion card spotlight, and look for The Burning of Derricksburg on store shelves next month!

Warhammer: Invasion The Card Game is a card game by Eric M. Lang in which 2 players develop their kingdoms and lay waste to their foes. Each side is comprised of either the forces of Order or the forces of Destruction as they seek to extend their empire to include the entire Old World. The Living Card Game format allows players to customize their gaming experience with monthly Battle Pack expansions to the core game.

Write Comments     
More News [+]
Comments (17)

Published: 5/25/2010 12:41:46 PM

 No, you can only sacrifice your own units.  But yes, you can play the Great Unclean One's ability several times in the same turn.

Braying Gors seems pretty good.  The only issues really is that it's bad vs. DE and it dies to your own Pestilence (so you probably can't play Pestilence in the same deck as this guy).

Published: 5/25/2010 12:14:22 PM

Lovely artwork and a decent chaos card. May build a chaos deck soon!

Published: 5/25/2010 12:01:27 PM

This is a great card and really emphasizes the theme of chaos with the corruption mechanic. I hope this is an example of the rest of this cycle where the theme of each faction is concentrated on in their individual cards and makes each faction more unique from the others.

Published: 5/25/2010 11:58:10 AM

OK, Braying Gors are pretty cool especially if you manage to put two or three on the table (the Quest Zone wouldn't be bad for them) for several reasons: they give you corrupt units when you need them, they can be uncorrupted at your leisure and you can sacrifice them to feed the Unclean One if you need an extra hammer.

Offering of Blood is amazing. Truly.

However, the Unclean One does raise one important question. It says "sacrifice a corrupted unit". Can you sacrifice your enemy's corrupted units? I suppose not, but... Hey, do you get three extra hammers if you sacrifice three corrupted units?

Published: 5/25/2010 10:48:25 AM

Excellent! I love the mechanic of sacrifice for more power. This fits the chaos direction that seemed to get kind of lost in the last few battle packs. 

I have a great feeling that James and crew will make this cycle balance the current game from the lessons, observations, and community feedback they have received. 

Thanks guys.

© 2014 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS