Regardless, it is VERY clear in the rules.
The template DOES NOT matter when dealing with moving near/off the edge of the table. Only the ship base's final position matters.
The template DOES matter when dealing with obstacles. Both the template and the ship's base are checked.
Clarification of your last statement: The template does matter when dealing with obstacles. Both the template and the ship's base at its final position are checked. You still do not move the ship along the template to check with obstacles.