I've been playing AGoT for a while now, but I would like to be sure of some things. I've been searching the forums but I still haven't found a clear answer.
1. Duplicates are only considered as a "duplicate" only on unique cards. So this means for example, I can play King Robb's companions (non-unique) side by side, and consider them as two characters, kneel them separately, use each of their renown ability? etc ?
2. If I have Eddard Stark for example in game, and he dies and on the next drawing phase i get this card again, can I play it (by paying the gold of course) in the next marshaling round? I think I read somewhere in the forums, that once a card which has duplicate dies, it renders the other ones in hand useless? Altough I think I got it wrong…
3. Attachements: For example, Bowl of brown is a non-unique attachment. I assume, if I have it twice, I can attach it to, two different charecters ?
4. Can I choose to play a non-unique card as a duplicate?
To sum it up: multiple cards with the same name are considered and played as duplicates when they are unique, and they are considered like two different ones when they are not unique?
Thank you very much,
|Page 1 of 1 (3 messages)||1|
Yes on your summary; you can have all 3 copies of your non-unique "Bowl of Brown", but only one copy of a unique card (although it may be double-duped), but note that if a unique card you control is in the "dead" pile, you cannot play or take control of a card with the same title. The same does not go for a unique card in your discard pile.
This extends itself to cards with the same title, but different card types. Unique direwolves exist as both a character card and an attachment - if you played the attachment first, you could play the character version as a duplicate (and vice versa), and if the attachment is discarded you could play the character version later. If the character version is killed and ends up in your dead pile, you would not be able to play the attachment version.
1. Yes, correct all the way.
2. Indeed, if Eddard (or any other unique character) is in your dead pile (NOT your discard pile) you may not play him again (unless you somehow remove him from the dead pile - there are a few cards with such effects.
3. You can even attach them to the same character (not that it would have any extra effects)
4. As a duplicate on a unique character you mean? There are a few cards that allow you to do that, but they are the exception rather than the rule. So, usually, the answer is no.
Don't forget - there is no non-unique duplicate. Duplicate is only the card that you can attach to your unique character in order to protect him from harm (usually a second card of the same name). Non-unique characters are just characters and there may be as many of them on the battlefield as the players wish, under any player's control.
There is a fine line between 'hobby' and 'mental illness.'
- Dave Berry
|Page 1 of 1 (3 messages)||1|